Beautiful bronze sculpture representing KALI, She is the mother of life, but also of death. This element of divinity was so important that all the Shakti (of Shiva, of Vishnu, etc.) eventually gained an independence which made them perceive them as goddesses in their own right; they grouped together under the generic name of Adi-Shakti, the “primordial Shakti”, which introduces to the whole tradition of the Divine Mother, which has remained so strong in India.

She is represented naked, with a fierce gaze and her tongue out, wearing a long necklace, sometimes going down to her knees, made up of human skulls, dancing on the body of Shiva, who in a corpse position claims her indulgence, lying on her back.
She often wears a loincloth made of severed arms, holds a decapitated head in one hand, a sword, the power of destruction, in the other. The Bhadrakali form has several pairs of arms, representing the cardinal points. Its cult is especially developed in Bengal, which inspired many poets singing their devotion to their goddess, such Ramprasad Sen.
For the devotee, she is clothed in the universe, she is the image of a protective mother, and the skulls on her necklace represent the 51 letters of Sanskrit.
Beautiful condition and beautiful 20th century patina.

Dimensions 32 x 22 cm

Careful, secure and tracked shipping.

ref 2567

Kali - India - Bronze Sculpture - India - XXth

SKU: 2567

Belle sculpture en bronze représentant KALI ,Elle est la mère de la vie, mais aussi de la mort. Cet élément de la divinité était si important que toutes les Shakti (de Shiva, de Vishnou, etc.) finirent par prendre une indépendance qui les fit percevoir comme des déesses à part entière ; elles se regroupèrent sous le nom générique d’Adi-Shakti, la « Shakti primordiale », qui introduit à toute la tradition de la Mère divine, restée si prégnante en Inde.

Elle est  représentée  nue, le regard féroce et la langue tirée, portant un long collier, descendant parfois à ses genoux, composé de crânes humains, dansant sur le corps de Shiva, qui en position de cadavre réclame son indulgence, allongé sur le dos.
Elle porte souvent un pagne formé de bras coupés, tient une tête décapitée dans une main, une épée, le pouvoir de la destruction, dans l'autre. La forme Bhadrakali possède plusieurs paires de bras, représentant les points cardinaux. Son culte est surtout développé dans le  Bengale, qui inspira nombre de poètes chantant leur dévotion à leur déesse, tel Ramprasad Sen.
Pour le dévot, elle est vêtue de l'univers, elle est l'image d'une mère protectrice, et les crânes de son collier représentent les 51 lettres du sanscrit.
Belle état et belle patine XXème siècle.

Dimensions 32 x 22 cm

Envoi soigné, sécurisé et suivi.

ref 2567
 

Kali - Inde - Sculpture En Bronze - Inde - XXème

SKU : 2567
0,00 €Prix